High honors bestowed upon UTHSC dean

TSD Newsroom | 5/27/2015, 11:36 a.m.
Marie Chisholm-Burns, Dean of the College of Pharmacy, wins Clinician of Distinction Award
Dr. Marie Chisholm-Burns, dean of the College of Pharmacy at UTHSC, received the Clinician of Distinction Award from the American Society of Transplantation (AST). With her are (left) Kenneth Newell, AST immediate past president and James Allan, AST president. (Courtesy photo)

Distinct honors were recently awarded to Marie Chisholm-Burns, MPH, MBA, FCCP, FASHP, dean and professor in the College of Pharmacy at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC).

Dr. Chisholm-Burns received the Clinician of Distinction Award from the American Society of Transplantation at the recent 2015 American Transplant Congress in Philadelphia.

The prestigious award is given to a non-physician clinician who is considered an expert in his or her field, whose career is dedicated to transplant, and who is recognized for outstanding contributions to clinical transplantation.

Chisholm-Burns’ background is in patient care with a focus on solid-organ transplant patients. She founded and directs the Medication Access Program in Georgia, which helps to provide medication to roughly 820 solid-organ transplant patients. The statewide network facilitates medication adherence, as well as interdisciplinary care and support for transplant patients.

Chisholm-Burns has served on the editorial boards of several journals, including the American Journal of Health-System Pharmacy. She has published textbooks that have been adopted in many schools of pharmacy, medicine and nursing. Two textbooks coedited by Dr. Chisholm-Burns received the Medical Book Award from the American Medical Writers Association.

Her work has appeared in more than 275 publications, and she has received approximately $10 million in external funding for research from organizations, including the National Institutes of Health and several foundations.

The American Pharmacists Association awarded her its 2014 Research Achievement Award. She also received the 2013 Literature Award for Sustained Contributions given by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Research and Education Foundation.

A pharmacist since 1992, Dr. Chisholm-Burns became dean of the College of Pharmacy at UTHSC in 2012. Previously, she was professor and head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science for the College of Pharmacy at the University of Arizona. She received her BS and PharmD degrees from The University of Georgia, her MPH from Emory University and her MBA from the University of Memphis.