Log in

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/rtmmemph/public_html/templates/gk_news2/html/com_content/article/default.php on line 13

Student Leaders & Achievers net Comcast Memphis honor

Comcast Memphis recently honored 45 recipients of the Leaders & Achievers Scholarship Program at a luncheon co-sponsored with HBO, and held at the Racquet Club of Memphis.  Special to the Tri-State Defender

Comcast Memphis recently honored 45 recipients of the Leaders & Achievers Scholarship Program at a luncheon co-sponsored with HBO, and held at the Racquet Club of Memphis.

 Otha Brandon of Comcast knows a leader/achiever when he sees one, and in this instance its Marchel Ebron of Cordova High School. (Photos courtesy of Mangiante Photography)

 HBO stepped up as a sponsor of the Leaders & Achievers Scholarship Program luncheon. Ayanna McFarland of Whitehaven High School receives an HBO backpack from Joey Beard of HBO to mark her achievement.

The scholarship program recognizes students who are involved in their schoola, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities and who serve as models for their fellow students.

“Youth leadership development is one of the Comcast Foundation’s community investment areas of focus because we believe we can make a significant and measurable impact, and these students are very deserving of this recognition,” said Trevor Yant, vice president and general manager of Comcast Memphis and Little Rock.

Family members, school principals and counselors joined in the celebration of the 2010-11 honorees.

Program winners receive one-time grants of $1,000 to be used toward their pursuit of higher education. All nominations must be made by principals or guidance counselors. Recipients represented high schools from the Comcast Memphis service areas in Arkansas, Mississippi and Tennessee.

Over the five-year period that Comcast has operated the Memphis cable system and has offered this program, 166 high school seniors have received the Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program Awards for a total of $166,000.

“Comcast seeks students who demonstrate leadership abilities in school activities and who reflect a strong commitment to community service,” said Otha Brandon, director of government affairs of Comcast Memphis. “This scholarship is in recognition of their hard work and commitment to their communities.”

The process of selecting the 2011-12 honorees is already underway. Each high school located in Comcast Memphis’ footprint may submit one nominee through the collaborative effort of their college counselor and principal.

The 2010-11 recipients are:

Arkansas – Tyler Douglas Kent, West Memphis Christian High School; Johnathan L. Mablin, West Memphis Senior High School; and Jessica Young, Earle High School.

Mississippi – Aisha Armstrong, Coldwater High School; Freddie Benson, Horn Lake High School; Jordan Nicole Brown, Senatobia High School; Russell Copeland Jr., Southaven High School; SeCory C. Cox, Rosa Fort High School; Chrishunda Cross, HW Byers High School; Peter James Englert, Lewisburg High School; Ashley Cheryl Page, DeSoto Central High School; Samuel S. Thompson, Olive Branch High School; and Macy Suzanne Watkins, Potts Camp High School.

Tennessee Recipients – Clinton D. Alexander, Bolton High School; Francesca L. (Chessie) Biggam, Houston High School; Kacey Cannon, Rossville Christian Academy; Kevin Stephen Stotter Cuddy, Collierville High School; Taylor “TD” Davey, Fayette-Ware High School; Stanley W. Dowell II, Lausanne Collegiate School; Kameron R. Echols, Central High School; Marchel LaNae Ebron, Cordova High School; Kristina C. Elliott, Middleton High School; April J. Gearlds, Booker T. Washington High School; Jonathan Thomas Golden, Oakhaven High School; Eboni Amor Gude, Covington High School;

Kelsey Huggins, Evangelical Christian High School (ECS); Sara Katherine Hill, St. Agnes Academy; Dalton R. Kim, Christian Brothers High School; Tarnika Love, Mitchell High School; Ayanna McFarland, Whitehaven High School; Ikeya Chantell Prewitt Muse, George Washington Carver High School, Kierra L. Myart, Southwind High School; Patricia Guerrero Navarro, Kirby High School; Allyson Patterson, St. Mary’s Episcopal; Charlene Ann C. Patino, Fayette Academy; Alexis C. Reece, Hutchison High School; Jianyin Roachell, Memphis University School (MUS);

Portia A. Rucker, Middle College High School; Jasmine Scullark, Craigmont High School; Matt Sloan, Germantown High School; Daphne C. Turnage, Melrose High School;Emily G. Ward, Bartlett High School; Ebone’ Chantel Webb, Memphis Catholic High School; Kendall Katreal White, Hillcrest High School; and LaNell Williams, City University School of Liberal Arts.


0 #1 Tomas 2014-06-14 02:05
My partner and I stumbled over here different web address and thought I might check things
out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to
checking out your web page for a second time.

Add comment

Security code